CARS about
CARS Centrum Studiów Antymonopolowych i Regulacyjnych Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego

About us

Centre for Antitrust and Regulatory Studies (CARS) was established on 21st February, 2007 as the research group. As of 1st October, 2014 it was converted into the independent organizational unit subordinated directly to the Dean of Faculty of Management, University of Warsaw. CARS Director is Prof. Dr. Tadeusz Skoczny.

CARS activity concentrate on widely understood issues of competition and consumer protection and pro-competitive and pro-consumer sector-specific regulations in market economy. In this respect CARS is conducting interdisciplinary scientific research and development (R+D) projects and preparing scientific reports, publishing books and periodicals, holding scientific conferences, patronizing post-graduate studies, running Open PhD Seminars, organising training courses and cooperating with similar research units in Poland and in foreign countries.

Annually „CARS Award” is also being offered.

CARS Board

Prof. dr hab. Tadeusz Skoczny Prof. Dr. Tadeusz Skoczny
Head of Department of European Economic Law, Faculty of Management, University of Warsaw


Prof. dr hab. Stanisław Piątek Prof. Dr. Stanisław Piątek
Deputy Director
Head of Department of Administration and Business Law, Faculty of Management, University of Warsaw


Prof. dr hab. Stanisław Piątek Adam Jasser
Deputy Director

Former President of the Office of Competition and Consumer Protection (UOKiK)

Dr Maciej Bernatt Prof. Maciej Bernatt
Scientific Secretary

Head of Department of European Economic Law, Faculty of Management, University of Warsaw

Ewelina D. Sage, PhD (OXON) Ewelina D. Sage, Ph.D. (Oxon)
International Coordinator
Department of International Economic Relations, Faculty of Management, University of Warsaw


Magdalena Kiełkiewicz Magdalena Kiełkiewicz
National Coordinator

Tel. (+44.22) 55.34.126

Coordinators of sections

I. Competition law – Prof. Dr. Tadeusz Skoczny

II. Sector regulation – Prof. Dr. Stanisław Piątek

III. Competition and regulation enforcement – Prof. Maciej Bernatt

IV. Consumer law section – Prof. Monika Namysłowska

V. Competition economics section – Prof. Anna Fornalczyk

Coordinators of thematic fields

International competition law – Prof. Rajmund Molski

Prohibition of anticompetitive agreements – Prof. Agata Jurkowska-Gomułka

Prohibition of abuse of dominance field – Prof. Konrad Kohutek

Concentration control – Adam Jasser

Fines in competition and consumer protection – Prof. Anna Piszcz

Competition law enforcement via arbitration – Dr. Tomasz Bagdziński

Private enforcement of competition law – Dr. Dominik Wolski

State aids law – Dr. Łukasz Grzejdziak

Digital Markets and Big Data – Dr. Laura Zoboli

Coordinators of regulated sectors

Telecommunications – Prof. Dr. Stanisław Piątek

Audiovisual sector – Ewelina D. Sage, PhD

Postal services – Dr. Mateusz Chołodecki

Energy – Dr. Marzena Czarnecka

Rail transport – Prof. Cezary Banasiński

Air transport – Dr. Jan Walulik

Financial services – Prof. Teresa Czerwińska